Portraits: Patients and Psychiatrists

Wellcome Trust Arts Award 2009

Drawing Dr S

leave a comment »

Dr S works as a Psychiatrist on the National Pyschosis Ward at Bethlem Royal Hospital. He became a psychiatrist because he was always curious about other people and their motivations and lives. He also researches at the Institute of psychiatry and has produced many research papers for example “Mapping Auditory Hallucinations in Schizophrenia using Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging”. He is Sikh, likes Neitzsche, practices martial arts (iaido; jodo and karate)
meditation and prayer, likes roses and rubies, waterfalls and mountains. He is the only psychiatrist who choose to look directly at me while I was drawing, which I  thought was quite brave. He is also the psychiatrist I have drawn who was not recruited for me by Dr Tim McInerny. Two of the Arts Therapists told me they thought he would be good to work with so I approached him myself. They had told me that he was one of the few Psychiatrists who spent time in Bethlem Art Gallery and he always brought sweets and left them at the gallery for visitors. He is a very warm and friendly character and when I asked what he had in common with his patient, he said “Everything, just different life experiences”.

Written by gemmaanderson

05/12/2009 at 8:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

